Dark Reachnoun The exposure your brand gets from creator videos nobody at your brand has seen, reviewed, or approved.
Dark Reach is exposure. This page shows what exposure of this kind can turn into: public enforcement actions and lawsuits in the United States over creator, influencer, affiliate, and social media content. Each entry is a few factual sentences with a link to its source. Watchword adds to it every week.
No entry here is a case Watchword worked on, and none is presented as a brand’s Dark Reach. They are the public record of what happens when a disclosure, a claim, or a brand safety issue on a platform gets noticed. Most involve content a creator or affiliate made on a brand’s behalf. Some involve a company’s own social posts; those are labeled, and they are here because they show how regulators treat a claim once it is on a platform, whoever posted it.
34 entries from 2023 to 2026: 3 by the FTC, 13 by the FDA, 1 by State AG, 17 by private plaintiffs. 20 involve content a creator, affiliate, or brand partner made on a brand's behalf; 14 involve a company's own social posts or storefront. Coverage begins January 2023. Last updated September 14, 2026. A filed lawsuit or complaint is an allegation, not a finding. Nothing on this page is legal advice.
The record
Who acted
Whose content
Category
Private plaintiffCreator contentBeauty
Class action filed: Sephora USA, Inc.
A parent and a minor filed a proposed class action (Vettel v. Sephora USA, Inc., No. 3:26-cv-09653, N.D. Cal.) alleging that Sephora marketed more than 1,600 skincare products with active ingredients to children and teens without age-appropriate warnings, and that it built demand through paid influencers, a TikTok marketing partnership, and free products and gifts to young creators that were not disclosed. These are allegations; no finding has been made.
Class action filed: Blockratize, Inc. dba Polymarket
A District of Columbia resident filed a proposed class action in federal court in Washington, D.C., alleging that Polymarket recruited content creators to film betting videos on copies of its website that the company built and ran on its own servers, so that the videos showed wins that would have been losses on the real platform. These are allegations; no finding has been made.
Warning letter: R3 Medical Companies (Bello Bio, LLC and Regen Suppliers, LLC)
FDA issued a warning letter stating that umbilical cord and exosome products sold under the ReBella name were unapproved new drugs and unlicensed biological products, citing the company's websites and its YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, and Facebook accounts, including a March 2026 YouTube video in which an employee described the products as anti-inflammatory and listed conditions they were used for.
The National Association of Consumer Advocates sued Polymarket, its CEO, and its chief marketing officer in D.C. Superior Court (No. 2026-CAB-004388) under the District's Consumer Protection Procedures Act, alleging that influencers were paid to promote the platform without disclosure, that creators filmed bets on a simulated version of the platform, and that a paid clipping program spread the videos with instructions not to make them look like ads. These are allegations; no finding has been made.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that a Prostatitis Remission Cream sold through the company's TikTok Shop storefront was an unapproved new drug and misbranded. The letter cites the TikTok Shop listing as the place the product was offered and copies TikTok's Global Head of Trust and Safety.
A consumer filed a proposed class action (Lupea v. Gymshark USA, Inc., No. 1:26-cv-05073, S.D.N.Y.) alleging that Gymshark had influencers on Instagram, YouTube, and TikTok promote its apparel without disclosing that they were paid, and that exclusivity arrangements with those influencers were not disclosed to consumers. These are allegations; no finding has been made.
The FTC sued multilevel marketer Amare Global, alleging that the company and its brand partners advertised Kids Happy Juice and related supplements on Instagram, TikTok, YouTube, and Facebook with unsubstantiated claims to treat depression, anxiety, and ADHD, and made deceptive earnings claims to brand partners. These are allegations in a complaint.
The makers of the Meowant litter box and PetPivot settled Meowant's lawsuit, which had alleged that PetPivot engaged two TikTok creators to post review videos containing false statements about Meowant products, with links to PetPivot's TikTok Shop storefront. Settlement terms were not reported.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that the SaniiSwab nasal product was an unapproved new drug, citing Facebook and Instagram posts about preventing illness and stopping the spread of germs during flu season, and a website statement that the product was 'FDA OTC approved,' which FDA said was false.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that Super Antioxidant (OPCXtra) products marketed as dietary supplements were unapproved drugs because of disease claims, citing the company's website and the Facebook page that directed consumers to it.
The makers of the Meowant self-cleaning litter box sued PetPivot and several TikTok creators in the Eastern District of Texas, alleging the creators posted videos with false statements about Meowant's product and pricing, linked to PetPivot's TikTok Shop storefront, and were paid through TikTok's affiliate system. These are allegations; the case later settled.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that iKids-Growth products marketed as dietary supplements were unapproved drugs, citing September 2024 Facebook posts claiming the products enhance IGF-1 levels and increase children's height. FDA lab analysis also found an undeclared unapproved ingredient.
In Negreanu v. Revolve Group, Inc. (2:25-cv-03186, C.D. Cal.), the court compelled the plaintiff's undisclosed-influencer-advertising claims to individual arbitration and struck the class allegations. The case did not reach the merits.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that homeopathic oral care gels and rinses were unapproved new drugs, citing claims on the company's Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube accounts, including a Facebook post about recovering faster from dental surgery.
Settlement: Color Image Apparel, Inc. dba Alo Yoga
The Alo Yoga influencer-disclosure class action (Sulici v. Color Image Apparel, N.D. Ill.) was resolved through a settlement before the court reached the merits. Terms were not reported.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that Supergoop! PLAY SPF 50 Body Mousse was an unapproved and misbranded OTC sunscreen drug because the mousse dosage form is not covered by an authorized sunscreen order, citing the company website and its Instagram and Facebook pages.
The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit (Pop v. LuliFama.com LLC, No. 24-11048) affirmed dismissal of a proposed class action against Luli Fama swimwear and several Instagram influencers alleging undisclosed paid endorsements, holding that the complaint did not plead the alleged fraud with the particularity Rule 9(b) requires.
In the Celsius influencer-disclosure class action, the court dismissed the claims against two influencer defendants without leave to amend and dismissed the remaining claims with leave to amend. The plaintiff filed an amended complaint on July 8, 2025, again alleging undisclosed sponsorships.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that 7-hydroxymitragynine tablets, strips, shots, and drink mixes were unapproved drugs and adulterated foods, citing Instagram posts from May 2025 promoting 'calm, clarity, & relief.'
FDA's Office of Prescription Drug Promotion issued a warning letter over an Instagram post on the personal account of Sprout's CEO (@cindypinkceo) promoting the prescription drug Addyi without any risk information and without the full approved indication. The post was on a personal account, not a company account.
The Connecticut Attorney General sued Florida-based Triggered Brand under the state's unfair trade practices act, alleging it sold unauthorized GLP-1 weight-loss products without prescriptions, and stating that the company's social media marketing and website targeted consumers looking for weight-loss injections. These are allegations in a complaint.
A California consumer filed a proposed class action (Pop v. Beach Bunny Swimwear, Inc., C.D. Cal.) against Beach Bunny Swimwear and several influencers, alleging the influencers promoted the brand's swimwear on social media without clearly disclosing their paid partnerships. These are allegations; no finding has been made.
A California consumer filed a proposed class action (Negreanu v. Revolve Group, Inc., 2:25-cv-03186, C.D. Cal.) against Revolve and certain influencers, alleging Revolve had influencers promote its clothing without disclosing that they were paid, which the complaint says let Revolve charge higher prices. These are allegations; the claims were later sent to arbitration.
Class action filed: Color Image Apparel, Inc. dba Alo Yoga
Consumers filed a proposed class action (Sulici v. Color Image Apparel dba Alo Yoga, N.D. Ill.) against Alo Yoga and 14 influencers, alleging the influencers promoted Alo activewear on Instagram without adequately disclosing that they were paid, presenting themselves as yoga practitioners rather than paid endorsers. These are allegations; the case later settled.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that CBD products for animals were unapproved new animal drugs and adulterated animal foods, citing disease claims on the company website, a May 2024 Instagram post, and Pinterest pins.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that CBD products for animals and humans were unapproved drugs, citing claims on the company website and August 2024 Facebook and Instagram posts about easing hip dysplasia discomfort in dogs.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that TKTX topical numbing creams were unapproved new drugs, citing the company's Facebook and Instagram accounts that directed consumers to its website to buy the products.
Class action filed: Shein (Roadget Business Pte. Ltd.)
Consumers filed a proposed class action (Bengoechea v. Shein, N.D. Ill.) against Shein and seven influencers, alleging the influencers promoted Shein products while omitting or burying paid-partnership disclosures, short of the FTC's clear-and-conspicuous standard. These are allegations; no finding has been made.
A California consumer filed a proposed class action (Dubreu v. Celsius Holdings Inc., C.D. Cal.) against Celsius and three influencers, alleging the influencers promoted Celsius energy drinks on social media without disclosing their paid relationship with the brand. These are allegations; parts of the case were later dismissed with leave to amend.
Sol de Janeiro sued MCoBeauty in the Southern District of New York (1:24-cv-08862) for trade dress infringement and false advertising, citing among other things an influencer video stating MCoBeauty's fragrance mists 'smell exactly like' Sol de Janeiro's and an Instagram 'dupe alert' post that MCoBeauty allegedly liked and commented on. These are allegations; a motion to dismiss was pending as of early 2026.
Competitor lawsuit filed: PDD Holdings and Whaleco Inc. (Temu)
Shein's parent company sued Temu's parent in the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia, alleging among sixteen counts that Temu directed influencers to post on Instagram that Temu's products were cheaper and better quality than Shein's. These are allegations; no ruling on the merits was reported in the source.
FDA issued a warning letter stating that the company's chemical peel products were unapproved new drugs, citing claims on its website and on Instagram posts, including an August 2023 post stating that chemical peels help skin disorders like acne and rosacea.
Warning letters: American Beverage Association, Canadian Sugar Institute, and 12 health influencers
FTC staff sent warning letters to two trade associations and 12 registered dietitians and health influencers over Instagram and TikTok posts promoting aspartame or sugar-containing products, stating the posts failed to adequately disclose that the influencers were paid by industry, and noting civil penalties of up to $50,120 per violation for future failures.
The FTC obtained proposed court orders requiring three high-level doTERRA distributors to each pay a $15,000 civil penalty over claims made in a series of 2022 online webinars that doTERRA essential oils and dietary supplements could treat, prevent, or cure COVID-19.
What counts. An entry is included when a US federal agency, a state attorney general, or a private plaintiff took a public action, and the public record cites creator, influencer, affiliate, or social media content as part of it: a post, a video, a storefront, a paid endorsement, or a missing disclosure. Actions about fake reviews alone, with no creator or social component, are not included.
Two kinds of entry. "Creator content" means a creator, affiliate, influencer, or brand partner made the post or video on a brand's behalf. That is Dark Reach. "Brand's own posts" means the company's own account or storefront was cited. Those entries are included because they show how a regulator treats a product claim once it is on a platform, whoever posted it. Use the "Whose content" filter to view either set alone.
How entries are written. One sentence per entry describing what happened, in plain language, with the date, the actor, the company, and the platforms cited. Every entry links to the primary source or to a law firm or legal publication that names the case. Watchword reads the source before publishing. A filed lawsuit or complaint is an allegation and is labeled as one. Where the source reports a later ruling, settlement, or dismissal, that is recorded as its own entry.
What this is not. This is a record of what is public, not a complete list. Some actions are never announced, and some filings are only visible on paid court dockets. Nothing here is legal advice, and no entry is a determination by Watchword that any company or creator did anything wrong.
Updates. Watchword reviews new FTC and FDA actions, state attorney general announcements, and court filings each week and adds entries that meet the standard above. Corrections: hello@usewatchword.com.
Use the data. The full record is available as risk.json. Quote or cite it with attribution.
Suggested citation: Watchword Labs, LLC. "The risk of Dark Reach: a running record of enforcement and lawsuits over creator content." usewatchword.com/risk.html. Updated September 14, 2026.